Listed Buildings

The Technical Institute
The Technical Institute. Date not known.
Image courtesy of Bourne Hall Museum

Listed Buildings are those regarded as being of special special architectural or historic interest. There are two types of listing:
Statutory list which is administered for the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990, by English Heritage (EH). Over 400 local buildings are covered by the 325 entries on the statutory list and they have been graded by EH according to their relative importance:
  • Grade I buildings are those of exceptional interest.
  • Grade II* buildings are particularly important and of more than special interest.
  • Grade II buildings are of special interest, warranting every effort to preserve them.
Locally listed buildings are those the Local Planning Authority (Epsom & Ewell Borough Council) considers to be of local historic importance. There are currently 72 buildings on the 'Locally listed heritage assets' list.
Listed buildings have statutory protection, this means that a listed building may not be demolished, extended, or altered without special permission from the local planning authority. (Ancillary buildings and/or structures may also be covered by the controls so it is best to check with the relevant Council officers.)